GLOW Half-Life: How Long It Stays in Your System
How long GLOW stays in the body, how that shapes dosing frequency, and what is known about drug testing.
- Half-life
- less than 30 min
- IV and IM (single and repeated), rat, beagle dog · Frontiers in pharmacology 2022, PMID 36588717
- Dosing interval
- Varies by study
- as used in studies
- WADA
- Prohibited (S0)
- In and out of competition
- Detection window
- 4 findings
- from anti-doping studies, below
GLOW half-life
A half-life depends on the route (under the skin, into a vein, by mouth or nasal spray) and the species it was measured in, so we report each value with its route and source. These are values for each ingredient of GLOW; none was measured for the blend.
| Route | Half-life | Measured in | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| BPC-157: IV and IM (single and repeated) | less than 30 min | Animal · rat, beagle dog | Frontiers in pharmacology 2022, PMID 36588717 |
| BPC-157: not stated (review summary) | less than 30 minutes | Animal · review of preclinical data | HSS journal 2025, PMID 40756949 |
What half-life means
Half-life is the time it takes for the amount of a drug in the blood to fall by half. After one half-life, about 50% is left; after two, about 25%; after four to five, only a few percent remain.
- A long half-life lets a drug be dosed less often, for example once a week.
- A short half-life means levels rise and fall quickly, which is why some peptides are given daily or more often.
- Effects can outlast blood levels, so half-life alone does not tell you how long a drug works.
What it means for dosing frequency
Dosing intervals used in published studies of GLOW:
- TB-500: single dose or once daily, intravenous (Human RCT; Journal of cellular and molecular medicine 2021, PMID 34346165)
- TB-500: 6 times daily, eye drops (Human RCT; Cornea 2015, PMID 25826322)
- TB-500: single dose, then daily, intravenous (Human RCT; Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences 2010, PMID 20536472)
- BPC-157: once daily on 2 consecutive days, intravenous infusion over one hour (Human uncontrolled trial; Alternative therapies in health and medicine 2025, PMID 40131143)
Changing the interval changes how much drug builds up between doses, so it is not a free choice.
Drug tests and sport
Prohibited by WADA (S0)Contains BPC-157 (named in S0) and TB-500 (S2.3). A blend is prohibited if any component is.
Detection findings from anti-doping analytical studies:
- BPC-157: A 2023 method detects BPC-157 and five main metabolites in human urine at very low concentrations. · PMID 37959764
- BPC-157: A 2017 anti-doping lab method detects BPC 157 in urine; the peptide was stable in urine for at least 4 days. · PMID 28035768
- TB-500: A horse-racing doping method identified TB-500 and its metabolites in equine urine and plasma after a single dose (animal data, not human). · Journal of chromatography. A 2012, PMID 23084823
- TB-500: A direct-urine screen includes TB-500 among the peptides it can detect, at 50 to 500 pg/mL. · PMID 26578461
Tested athletes should treat it as prohibited (s0) at all times.
Pharmacokinetics of the components in the cached sources
In rats and beagle dogs, the elimination half-life of BPC157 after intravenous and intramuscular doses was under 30 minutes (animal data for one GLOW component).[2]
Absolute bioavailability of BPC157 after intramuscular injection was about 14% to 19% in rats and 45% to 51% in beagle dogs.[2]
BPC157 was rapidly metabolised into small peptide fragments and single amino acids in rats and dogs.[2]
No human half-life for the blend
A systematic review states there is no clinical safety data for BPC-157 in humans, so the rat and dog figures cannot be carried over to a person.[3]
The cached sources for this page give a half-life for 1 of the 3 components (BPC-157, in rats and dogs) and 0 for GHK-Cu, TB-500 or the blend in people.
Calculated from components with half life 1; components 3; human half lives 0; sources 36588717, 40756949. Formula: components with a cached half-life = 1 of 3
Anti-doping list entries for the components
The WADA 2026 list names BPC-157 under its S0 class of non-approved substances.[1]
The same list names thymosin-beta-4 derivatives such as TB-500 as prohibited growth factors.[1]
Common questions
How long does GLOW stay in your system?
Its reported half-life is less than 30 min (IV and IM (single and repeated), rat, beagle dog); less than 30 minutes (not stated (review summary), review of preclinical data). Most of a dose is gone after about four to five half-lives.
What is the half-life of GLOW?
Less than 30 min (IV and IM (single and repeated), rat, beagle dog); less than 30 minutes (not stated (review summary), review of preclinical data), from the sources cited below.
Is GLOW on the WADA prohibited list?
Yes. Prohibited by WADA (S0).
What is the half-life of GLOW peptide?
No half-life for the GLOW blend is cached; the only figure is under 30 minutes for BPC157 in rats and dogs.
Calculated from blend half lives 0; bpc157 half life minutes upper bound 30; species rat, beagle dog. Formula: cached blend half-lives = 0; BPC157 reported t1/2 < 30 min
More on GLOW
Sources
- 1World Anti-Doping Code International Standard Prohibited List 2026World Anti-Doping Agency · 2026wada-ama.orgAccessed 2 Oct 2026
- 2Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157, a potential drug for treating various wounds, in rats and dogs.Frontiers in pharmacology · 2022PMID 36588717Accessed 2 Oct 2026
- 3Emerging Use of BPC-157 in Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: A Systematic Review.HSS journal : the musculoskeletal journal of Hospital for Special Surgery · 2025PMID 40756949Accessed 2 Oct 2026
- 4A first-in-human, randomized, double-blind, single- and multiple-dose, phase I study of recombinant human thymosin β4 in healthy Chinese volunteers.Journal of cellular and molecular medicine · 2021PMID 34346165Accessed 2 Oct 2026
- 5Thymosin β4 significantly improves signs and symptoms of severe dry eye in a phase 2 randomized trial.Cornea · 2015PMID 25826322Accessed 2 Oct 2026
- 6A randomized, placebo-controlled, single and multiple dose study of intravenous thymosin beta4 in healthy volunteers.Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences · 2010PMID 20536472Accessed 2 Oct 2026
- 7Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study.Alternative therapies in health and medicine · 2025PMID 40131143Accessed 2 Oct 2026
Found an error? Report a correction.